Agreement To Establish The South Centre

The South Centre deals with a wide range of issues of concern to the countries of the South and the international community in general, such as development policy, sustainable development, climate change, global governance, economic and social development, South-South cooperation, global economic conditions, intellectual property, technology transfer, access to knowledge, health, trade agreements and food security. The South Centre is an intergovernmental organization of developing countries established by an intergovernmental agreement (treaty) that entered into force on 31 July 1995 and is headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland. It acts as an independent political think tank while having observer status with the United Nations and other development organizations. The south-central was created by a government agreement which entered into force on 31 July 1995. The head office is located in Geneva, Switzerland. The South Centre has observer status in several international organizations. China officially joined the south-central in 1995. The two sides maintain long-term cooperation in areas such as international trade and investment, human rights, health and climate change. Chen Xu, Ambassador of the Permanent Representation of the People`s Republic of China to the United Nations Office at Geneva and other international organizations in Switzerland, is China`s representative on the Council of Representatives. Mr.

Wu Hailong, President of the China Public Diplomacy Association, has been a member of the Board of Directors since May 2016. In November 2015, China hosted the 35th meeting of the South Center Board of Directors in Beijing. South Bulletin, a regular publication of the South Centre, provides an update on ongoing debates on key global policy challenges and regularly provides analysis and commentary to policymakers in the South. [18] Until 2017, the following 54 States signed, ratified or acceded to the Intergovernmental Agreement:[17] The Council of Representatives, composed of representatives of the Member States. The Council of Representatives shall be composed of high-level representatives of the States members of the Centre. It meets annually and, as appropriate, interspersed to review the work of the Centre and to provide political and operational guidance. All States that sign, ratify or accede to the Convention are required to designate a high-level person as a representative on the Council. That person should have been recognized for his commitment and contribution to the development of the South, as well as to the promotion of South-South cooperation.

The Council shall appoint a Bureau of nine members and elect the President of the Centre. From among its members, the Council elects a convenor and a vice-convenor. The South Centre conducts research and analysis on various international policies relevant to the protection and promotion of the development interests of developing countries. . . .