Withdrawal Agreement Vote Result

The Withdrawal Agreement provides for a transition period until 31 December 2020, during which the UK will remain in the Single Market to ensure smooth trade until a long-term relationship is agreed. If no agreement is reached by that date, the UK will leave the single market on 1 January 2021 without a trade agreement. A non-binding political declaration on the future relationship between the EU and the UK is closely linked to the Withdrawal Agreement. On the morning of December 13, 2017, Davis issued a written statement saying: “In the United Kingdom, the government has committed to holding a vote on the final agreement in Parliament as soon as possible after the conclusion of negotiations. This vote will take the form of a resolution in both houses of Parliament and will cover both the Withdrawal Agreement and the conditions for our future relationship. [22] Parliament must approve any agreement on future relations. If such an agreement concerns competences that the EU shares with the Member States, national parliaments must also ratify it. The United Parliament`s Coordination Group, chaired by the Chair of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, David McAllister (EPP, DE), will work with the EU Working Group on relations with the United Kingdom and coordinate with the Committee on Foreign Affairs and the Committee on International Trade, as well as with all other relevant committees. The EP will closely follow the work of EU negotiator Michel Barnier and will continue to influence the negotiations through resolutions. The final agreement requires the approval of the entire Parliament. The Telegraph`s Asa Bennett tweeted some photos of the prime minister signing copies of the withdrawal agreement for MPs: The refocused House of Commons looks very different from the one that voted on the withdrawal agreement in October. .